Skip to main content

Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST)

SFSTS – New Missouri Guidelines/Standards effective July 1, 2013


Missouri Safety Center Student Dress Standards: 

The Center is a formal training environment for civilians and professionals alike. All students are asked to follow our dress code which consists of attire that is typically found in a professional office environment; T-shirts, tank tops, shorts or sandals are not appropriate in class. Click here to review the entire student dress standards

 

Courses

SFST Basic Refresher 4-Hour

If you only need to update your Standardized Field Sobriety Testing skills or need additional hours for grant certification.  This course is recommended by NHTSA every two (2) years for SFST practitioners.  Then you need to click on this course for enrollment. 

The primary purpose the SFST Refresher Testing Program is to improve the overall consistency of administration of the SFST test battery by individual police officers. Officers can refresh their skills with:

• Recognizing and interpreting evidence of DWI;
• Administration and interpreting the scientifically validated sobriety tests; and
• Information regarding recent case law and research studies;

Objective: This SFST Basic Refresher training program is intended for refresher training only. This program is not a substitute for the NHTSA/IACP approved DWI Detection and Standardized Field Sobriety Testing training.

Credit : P.O.S.T. Certified.

Tuition : Waived for qualified MO law enforcement officers. Supported through MoDOT’s Traffic and Highway Safety Division.

Pre-requisite: Prior successful completion of a NHTSA/IACP approved SFST Basic training course consisting of a minimum of 16 hours and solely devoted to Standardized Field Sobriety Testing Training.

Attendance Policy : P.O.S.T. attendance policy for this course will be strictly enforced. Attending 100% of the class time is mandatory and you MUST be on-time each day. Arriving late at any time (start-of-class, lunch or breaks) will not be tolerated.

Back to Top

SFST Basic Training 24-Hours

Objective: Designed to provide officers the opportunity to develop the practical SFST skills needed for successful apprehension and conviction of impaired drivers. Students who successfully complete this course will be able to properly administer and score the standard SFST battery. This course meets the 8 hour HGN requirement as per Hill v. State of Missouri.

Credit: P.O.S.T. Certified.

Tuition: Waived for qualified MO law enforcement officers. Supported through MoDOT’s Traffic and Highway Safety Division.

 

Back to Top

SFST Instructor Recertification

Objective: This Instructor Recertification course will provide SFST Instructors the 2006 updated NHTSA SFST materials via a CD/DVD. This is the only curriculum that is to be used in Missouri. Instructors can become certified to use this material in all courses that they teach. This meeting will satisfy the recertification training requirements currently in force. Any instructor that has not taught for several years or has not used the material in a P.O.S.T certified setting should consider taking an instructor development course before teaching the course.

Credit: P.O.S.T. Certified.

Tuition: Waived for qualified MO law enforcement officers. Supported through MoDOT’s Traffic and Highway Safety Division.

Pre-requisite: Prior successful completion of a NHTSA/IACP approved SFST Instructor course or NHTSA/IACP DRE Instructor course.

Instructor Recertification course dates and location: (Note Attendance is not mandatory. However, it is strongly suggested if you have issues with the program or want to participate more fully in the program.)

Back to Top

SFST Instructor Training 40-hours

Course DescriptionThis is a “train-the-trainer” course.  Topics include concepts of adult learning and teaching and the DRE/SFST curriculum package.  This training complies with the standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.  Students must pass both a teaching practicum (pass/fail) and a written examination (80%) to fulfill graduation requirements.  Graduates will be qualified to conduct DRE/SFST training and given the resources necessary to do so.

Credit: P.O.S.T. Certified – 18 Hours Technical Studies; 6 Hours Skill Development; 1 Hour Legal Studies (Note: No Mineral Area College Credit)

Prerequisite for SFST Instructors: Any person who desires to become an instructor in the SFST program shall have licensure as a peace officer from the Peace Officer Standards and Training program; have a minimum of seventy five (75) DWI arrests; hold a current/valid permit issued by the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services for one or more of the Missouri approved breath alcohol instruments; and provide a resume outlining education and law enforcement history.  Candidate must also show proficiency in administering the SFST battery in front of an SFST Instructor Trainer prior to completing the course.  Candidate will be given two (2) attempts to satisfactorily complete the battery.  Students will not be taught how to perform the SFST battery, but rather how to teach others.  The DRE / SFST Technical Panel will review and select all applicants for the school.

Attendance Policy: P.O.S.T. attendance policy for this course will be strictly enforced. Being on-time and attending 100% of the course is mandatory. Late arrivals, at any time, will not be tolerated. Please make note of the start times for each day to ensure you will be prepared and on time.

Application: Students must complete and turn the SFST Instructor application by December 10, 2018.

Click here for 2019 SFST Instructor School Application

Who Should Attend: Personnel assigned the duties of training officers for DWI enforcement.

In addition, acceptance will be based on the date and time the information was received, and the number of instructors currently employed by the law enforcement agency and State law.

Contact information: Jeanette Ford ( jeanette.ford@mshp.dps.mo.gov) 573-751-3626.  Coordinator: Trooper Andrew Armstron 573-751-4599

Tuition/Registration FeesRegistration fees are due by the first day of class.  If fees are not paid in full prior to completion of class, certificates and continuing education hours will not be issued unless payment is received.

Cost:     

$202 – tuition, meals, and lodging
$132 – tuition and meals
$450 – tuition, meals, and lodging (federal, private, and non-Missouri agencies)
$265 – tuition and meals (federal, private, and non-Missouri agencies)

 

2,534 total views, 1 views today