What type of handgun do I need to have?
You must use a semi-automatic handgun in 9mm, 10mm, .40, or .45 caliber. Revolvers are not acceptable. It must also have a decocking lever if it is a double-action pistol. The ammunition must be newly manufactured full metal jacket; reloads, magnums, hollow-points or similar rounds are not permitted. If you know which law enforcement agency you will be working for you should purchase a weapon that meets their standards. You should also wait until you are admitted to the Academy before you purchase your weapon. Students have the option of using the Academy’s Glock pistols, free of charge.
When can I apply for the basic POST class?
We will start accepting applications about six months before the start of each Class A POST course. This provides ample time for each student to apply for tuition assistance and to start buying the materials needed for the course. Click here for the application, apply now. Once we have received your application you can start applying for tuition assistance. You can do that via the UCM website.
How much does it cost to attend the Academy?
We fully understand the significant investment that you will be making in your future when you attend the Central Missouri Police Academy. Not only do we strive to be the premier choice for your basic POST training but we also try to remain affordable. We set our tuition at a level that is lower than the average for POST Academies in Missouri. We also try to ensure that we supply above average training (we provide additional certification in several critical skills).
Cost for the Central Missouri Police Academy is $5,100 for tuition, plus a $310 course fee for a total cost of $5,410. This includes all course books and materials, two sets of academy uniforms, UCM picture and network ID (allows access to University facilities and provides an “.edu” email account), and 15 hours of college credit.
There is also a $30 admissions fee when you enroll as a student with UCM (required to attend and receive college credit and tuition assistance if applicable) and a fee of approximately $50 for having your fingerprints taken and processed (this fee is subject to change by the processing agency, 3M/Cogent).
How do I apply for tuition assistance?
If a student has been fully admitted to a bachelors or masters degree program offered by the University of Central Missouri in the area of Criminal Justice or any other program, and plans to continue as a degree seeking student, financial aid can normally be used to help pay the cost of attending the Central Missouri Police Academy. Detailed information about financial assistance may be found by clicking on the links at the Office of Student Financial Services home page.
Is there someone that can help me apply my G.I. Bill benefits to the tuition?
Yes! UCM has a a Military and Veterans Services department devoted to helping veterans succeed here.
I’m not planning to become a Police Officer; I just want to attend the Academy for credit. Can I do that?
We often have Criminal Justice students and others attend the Academy just for credit. While we will allow this you still must meet all of the Missouri POST requirements (submit application, provide fingerprints, pass your background check, etc), attend and participate in all blocks of training, meet our internal standards (dress and appearance, etc.) and pay all tuition and fees. Please check with your academic advisor to ensure the credit hours will apply to your degree.
Do you have night or weekend classes?
Not at this time.
What is the job outlook for law enforcement?
It’s actually good especially compared to many other occupations. Click here to read the latest report from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
What clothes or equipment should I bring to the class?
A uniform issue, consisting of 2 sets of pants and polo shirts, one tan belt, and a cap, is provided to you while participating in this class; you will keep these after you graduate. You will need to purchase boots. The boots must be black and clean but do not need to be polished. We will also provide you with a training duty belt (Academy property) with appropriate holders for the training devices you will use in the course. If you wish to purchase and use your own duty belt and accessories, that is fine. You will also need to provide exercise clothing consisting of a hooded sweatshirt, sweatpants, grey, t-shirt and shorts, and athletic shoes (any color). You’ll also need a swim suit or swim shorts, and an extra pair of non-marking, clean tennis/running shoes for training on mats. The following items will also be useful and should be brought with you: Sunglasses, sunscreen, wool or stocking cap, gloves, rain coat.
What kind of boots should I buy?
We require only that the boots be black, clean, non-marking sole and have at least have a six inch rise (no sneakers). You should choose boots that you will be using on the job after graduation. Talk to local police officers and deputies about what they wear; they know best!
Are there any current job openings near Warrensburg?
We post all job announcements that we receive on our Facebook page.
What subjects are taught in this course?
Click here to view the basic 600 hour curriculum. To view our full curriculum, use the link below to access our training calendar.
What are the class hours?
The normal schedule is 7:45 am until 5 or 6 pm, Monday through Friday, but there are several days when class will run from noon into the evening to provide for training during the nighttime. We may also have classes on weekends if necessary; but this will only be under very unusual circumstances. We post the schedule (on our website) about 45 days prior to the class start date.
I don’t want to get a college degree. Must I still enroll at UCM?
Yes, but you will need to apply to the Police Academy first (Click HERE to apply). If accepted into the program, you’ll be directed to apply to UCM for the semester in which you were accepted into the Academy. The Central Missouri Police Academy is part of the University of Central Missouri and all CMPA cadets must also be UCM students. We have found, over time, although you may not see a need for the college credit hours now you probably will later. If you want to be promoted you may need at least a Bachelor’s degree. Enrolling as a student only costs $30 and, in addition to allowing you to apply for tuition assistance to help pay for the cost of this course, you will receive 15 credit hours toward a degree program with UCM. Enrollment also makes University Housing available, even if you are not presently seeking a degree.
I was arrested for _________ . Will I still be able to attend?
It depends. Minor traffic and other infractions generally do not pose a problem. Misdemeanors and felonies do. It also depends on the details and how recent the arrest was. When you apply for admittance, you will have to disclose any traffic or criminal violation that you have committed. If you were arrested, whether or not you were convicted, you will need to provide CERTIFIED copies of all arrest reports and court records, and provide a written statement explaining the circumstances. We will review this material to determine whether to approve your application. If we approve it we will forward it to the Missouri Peace Officer Standards and Training Program for their review. If approved by both you will be admitted to the academy. If you have charges pending you will not be accepted until the situation is resolved. Failure to disclose any arrest (whether or not records exist and including arrests while you were a juvenile) will result in refusal of admission or expulsion from the academy if you have already started the class.
Your rules say that I have to be 20 years old to enroll in the Academy, however, Missouri allows people to attend police academies as long as they are 18 years old. Why is there a difference?
Although Missouri allows you to attend a POST approved academy when you are 18, the purpose of the Academy is not only to educate, but also to get graduates employed in the law enforcement field. In order to be employed as an sworn officer, you must graduate from a POST approved academy, and you must pass the final POST examination. You cannot take the POST exam unless you are at least 21 years old. Experience tells us that the longer the time between finishing the Academy and taking the exam, the less information you retain; it is a comprehensive examination, but more importantly it included the information you need in actual job performance. For these reasons, we want to limit the waiting time between graduation and taking the POST exam.
4,672 total views, 5 views today